Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Rings vs Bar

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
xk92

PostSubject: Rings vs Bar   Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:26 pm

I'm a beginner. Can i start working out with rings or do i have to get to a certain level first? what do you think?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
1stratos1

PostSubject: Re: Rings vs Bar   Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:53 pm

Well in my opinion u can normally work on rings as u could on ur pull ups. If u can do at least 1-2 pull ups then its totally ok, if not it maybe just take u some more time to get the 1st pull up there. BUT in many rings u can change the height easily so its a good way for someone who can do pull ups or cant do many progress easily with Bodyweight rows.

Well ring dips is oneother beast , but u asked for pull ups bar vs rings Razz But the more difficult the better, in rings only staying above them are hard as hell.

Rings will definetely give u much strength cause of the stability that u need to maintain through the wholve movement.

Hope it helps, BTW welcome to the forum , one other Greek people here Very Happy

EDIT: Just saw ur introduction topic. It looks like u can do 12 pull ups so rings will benefit u much in my opinion. I have worked once with them and it looks like it can help a lot. So my answer is yes, if u like rings , then go for them.

Goals: Be able to do bar-barians requirements in less than 10 mins, 10 good form one hand push ups, 15 pistols, Be able to do one hand holds on bar and controlled negatives, 1 min hanging l-sit, backlever hold for 5+ secs, advanced tucked FL for 5+ secs, advanced tucked planche for 8+secs etc etc

Long Goal (till summer): My 1st OAC,good BL hold, FL hold, bent arm planche, free handstand push ups, l-sit to handstand on handles, v-sit hold on floor
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Geronimo