Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Muscle Up Time

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Elite-Bars

PostSubject: Muscle Up Time   Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:30 am

Hi All.

So I've been training on my power tower Bars for over 3 months now, I went from 6 to 14-15 Pullups Max Out.

I can't try Muscle ups on my power tower as it would damage over time and I can't have that.

My dream is to learn Muscle ups finally so I can start seeing a BBR in the horizon, even if a LONG way yet.

So, I'm posting to ask advice or thoughts about Your first Muscle Up, as I have never tried it before yet, I have no idea if I'll manage, but probably Not, I'm pessimist.

I found a high bar at the park and hopefully in the next days or weeks I'll decide to go and try it and film it ofcourse if I manage.

So of you people that can do them, any tips for first time? Like, do you think 15 Pullups in a row would mean I may have enough strenght to attempt a muscle up now?

Hand position and width recommended?

Cheers,

-Elite_Bars-

Jono

PostSubject: Re: Muscle Up Time   Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:48 am

Hey, just use the biggest kip you can. Also, swing forwards and backwards on the bar like the motion of a swing. When your body is in front of the bar and is about to swing back and underneath it, pull as hard as you can and kip as much as possible. You'll pull around the bar in curved path (avoiding the bar). Try to picture yourself getting your shoulders over the top of bar, then dip!

Use roughly shoulder width grip I guess. I have it slightly wider sometimes.

Doing more pull-ups doesn't necessarily mean more strength/power to do a muscle-up. It's all about explosiveness. Although at 15, I think you should be able to do it.

Good luck Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://www.youtube.com/user/reincarnate100
Elite-Bars

PostSubject: Re: Muscle Up Time   Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:01 am