Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Is it okay to practice some planche and stuff when you just start

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
reddragon

PostSubject: Is it okay to practice some planche and stuff when you just start   Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:20 pm

I am just a beginner. I am a martial artist in the first plae but I want get stronger and I dont like the traditonal weighttraining stuff.
So I decided to work only with my boduweight I have had some great advice and even a good schedule witch I follow.
But every now and then I want to see if I can do the planche and that kind off stuff.
Is it okay to try that or is it better to build a good foundation off pull-ups, dips, squats and chin-ups?
And if its okay is it better to start the routine with these exercises or at the end? Or maybay on a different day?
Because I think for martial artist its great to have such a strength that you can hold a planche orso for 20-30sec. or a L-sit for that time.
As I said, I just started this kind off training and I think its geat as a suplementary training for martial artist.
I dont have everyday to train this way because I have to train y martial arts to 2-3 times a week and do some running (sprinting) twice a week.
So I try to train 3 times a week with these bodyweight exercises, sometimes only a half hour sometimes longer.

I have notice that most off te guys on this forum train almost everyday and sometimes for more then a hour.
Can I still get good results training the way I do?
And if I am short on time can I then combine martial arts training and bodyweight training? And if so, is it better to start then with the bodyweight exercises?