Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Complete Beginner Looking For Help.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
CTurner

PostSubject: Complete Beginner Looking For Help.   Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:47 pm

Hey Guys.

I've always been fairly slim but never been very strong or had any mass or definition. I decided to change that and bought a bar and set of dumbbells around 2 months ago. Since then, i've been doing a simple routine with curls and dummbbell presses etc but i haven't felt much of a change and i haven't progressed very far in reps or added weight.

After hunting round online i found this forum and have spent the last hour or so reading through it and i must say, it got me pumped to get into a decent bar routine.

Unfortunately, i only have the "Power Bar." And the nearest park to me would be in Norwich, which is roughly 20 miles away so i'm limited on equipment and space.

At the moment, i can do 3-4 chin ups with good technique and can't even make the full movement on one pull up. My first target is to hit 10 chin ups and 2 pull ups, which for me is pretty hard considering the stage i'm at.

Can anyone help with a rough routine? Or exercises to help with pull ups rather than failing to complete one over and over until i manage it?

Thanks a lot.

Chris.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fed X

PostSubject: Re: Complete Beginner Looking For Help.   Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:46 pm

http://physicalliving.com/pyramid-training-for-pullups-with-john-sifferman/

Great foundation... and aim for full ROM dead hangers ONLY
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CTurner

PostSubject: Re: Complete Beginner Looking For Help.   Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:53 am

Thanks man. I'm actually going to try another one of his videos first, on how to complete your first unassisted pull up.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Uchal