Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

My beginner workout. Is it good?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
holism

PostSubject: My beginner workout. Is it good?   Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:31 pm

I've been doing calisthenics for the last 3 months. I think my max now are around:

pull ups: 10
push ups: 35
dips: 20

When I do upper body workout I'm mostly doing pullup ladders, dip sets and push up ladders or set.

Today, a normal upper body workout day (I do something like this 3-4 times a week), I did:

warm up
wide pull ups 1-2-3-4-5-4-3-2-1
pull ups 1-2-3-4-3-2-1
chins 1-2-3-4-3-2-1
close grip pulls 1-2-3-2-1

dips 5 X 10

diamond pushups 6-5-4-3-2-1-2-3-4-5-6
normal pushups 2 X 15

What are your thoughts on this? Any suggestions? I feel like I'm not improving that much but I'm very excited about calisthenics. Thanks for your help.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tim

PostSubject: Re: My beginner workout. Is it good?   Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:04 pm

looks alright, now when you get to the end of the list there, go and repeat it all again Wink

Try throwing in some static holds every few workouts as well, either include them during reps (so say a 3 sec hold at top and bottom position each rep) or as a stand alone, so 3x 30sec (or max time) holds Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jess

PostSubject: Re: My beginner workout. Is it good?   Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:44 am

You might want to add in weighted work. I'm finding that the weighted work really helps you get a big pull out of the bottom when you go back and attempt bodyweight. I know some people want to "keep it pure" with no external resistance, but weighted stuff flat out works. Quite a few people got one arm pullups from just building up weighted chins.

I would start trying progressions for the fun stuff if all these endless reps are getting boring.