Elite Bodyweight Training

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 

Beginners' experience on Ring Training

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
SFX

PostSubject: Beginners' experience on Ring Training   Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:14 pm

hi guys,

I'm new to rings and so I want to share my ring experience with you Smile
Maybe you have some advice for me, what I should train first or something else.

Because the summer is almost over and i don't want to stop training over the winter months i bought a pair of rings two weeks ago. So far i have tried out the rings twice. My first workout was only to get a feeling how to train with rings and yesterday i was in hurry and couldn't go to the playground to "my bars" and so i decided to train with rings at home.

I started with the support hold, some kind of pushups and pullups. In my current workout i usually do 50 (bar-) pullups but with the rings i only get 10 - 15. My goal is to do a bar muscle up next year. But can i achieve my goal if i train pull ups on rings? I guess the repetions are so low, because i had not enough space for a straight pull up and i had to do L-sit pull ups, which i have never done before.

Then I tried a back lever. I have never done a full back lever before, but yesterday it worked! My sister was watching me and she said, that i was parallel to the ground for one second or so Very Happy

Afterwards i tried an assisted one arm pull up. i have done negatives on a bar with a towel for a couple of weeks. With my left hand i gripped the ring with two fingers and could do a pull up with my right arm (but not full ROM). I don't know how to rate this, if i'm very close to a OAP or far away (i guess the second Wink )

So my next goals are:

* improve the support hold (3x 30 seconds)
* ring dips
* improve back lever
* front lever

I will continue reporting my progression for you.

Greets

Domi